Languages: Others


1. What are SME Corp. Malaysia’s roles and functions?

SME Corporation Malaysia (SME Corp. Malaysia) is the central coordinating agency (CCA) under the Ministry of Entrepreneur & Cooperatives Development (MECD) that coordinates the implementation of development programmes for small and medium enterprises (SMEs) across all related Ministries and agencies. It acts as the central point of reference for research and data dissemination on SMEs and entrepreneurs, as well as provides business advisory services for SMEs and entrepreneurs throughout the country.


Roles and Functions

  1. One-stop collection and reference center for MSME information and advisory services
  2. Coordination of MSME development programmes
  3. MSME Economic assessment
  4. MSME accreditation
  5. Business development and support programmes
  6. Access to domestic and international markets


2. What is the definition of SMEs?

Please refer here for more details.


3. What are the activities defined under manufacturing-related services?
Manufacturing-related services:

  • Engineering support services such as calibration, electroplating, machining, heat treatment, metal casting, metal forging
  • Specialised services such as warehousing, bulk breaking, international procurement centre, haulage
  • Maintenance and repair of factory machinery and equipment
  • Software development
  • Automation of production line
  • Designing houses
  • Packaging services

4. Apart from grants, what are other financing facilities offered by the Government?
Loans are also offered by the following institutions:

  • Bank Pertanian Malaysia
  • SME Bank
  • Malaysian Industrial Development Finance Bhd.
  • Bank Simpanan Nasional

5. Which Ministries and agencies are also involved in the development of SMEs?

List of Ministries:

Ministry of Entrepreneur & Cooperatives Development (MECD)
• Economic Planning Unit (EPU)
• Ministry of Agriculture and Food Industries (MAFI)
• Ministry of Communications and Digtal
• Ministry of Finance (MOF)
• Ministry of Higher Education (MOHE)
• Ministry of Local Governance Development (KPKT)
• Ministry of Human Resources (MOHR)
• Ministry of International Trade and Industry (MITI)
• Ministry of International Trade, Industry and Investment (MINTRED)
• Ministry of Plantation and Commodities (MPIC)
• Ministry of Rural Development (KPLB)
• Ministry of Science, Technology and Innovation of Malaysia (MOSTI)
• Ministry of Tourism, Arts and Culture (MOTAC)
• Ministry of Women, Family and Community Development (KPWKM)
• Ministry of Youth and Sports (KBS)
• Ministry of Industrial Development & Entrepreneurship (MIDE)


List of Agencies:

• Amanah Ikhtiar Malaysia (AIM)
• Bank Negara Malaysia (BNM)
• Credit Guarantee Corporation Malaysia Berhad (CGC)
• Federal Land Development Authority (FELDA)
• Perbadanan Usahawan Nasional Berhad (PUNB)
• Unit Peneraju Agenda Bumiputera (TERAJU)
• Bank Kerjasama Rakyat Malaysia Berhad (Bank Rakyat)
• Imstitut Keusahawanan Negara (INSKEN)
• Perbadanan Nasional Berhad (PERNAS)
• Professional Training & Education for Growing Entrepreneurs (PROTÉGÉ)
• Small Medium Enterprise Development Bank Malaysia Berhad (SME Bank)
• SME Corporation Malaysia (SME Corp. Malaysia)
• Suruhanjaya Koperasi Malaysia (SKM)
• TEKUN Nasional (TEKUN)
• UDA Holdings Berhad
• Johor Corporation (JCorp.)
• Perbadanan Kemajuan Iktisad Negeri Kelantan (PKINK)
• Bank Pertanian Malaysia Berhad (Agrobank)
• Department of Veterinary Services Sarawak
• Federal Agricultural Marketing Authority (FAMA)
• Lembaga Kemajuan Ikan Malaysia (LKIM)
• Lembaga Pertubuhan Peladang (LPP)
• Malaysian Agricultural Research and Development Institute (MARDI)
• Malaysian Bioeconomy Development Corporation Sdn Bhd (Bioeconomy Corp.)
• Malaysia Digital Economy Corporation (MDEC)
• MYNIC Berhad
• Syarikat Jaminan Pembiayaan Perniagaan Berhad (SJPP)
• Jabatan Pembangunan Kemahiran (JPK)
• Pembangunan Sumber Manusia Berhad (PSMB)
• Halal Development Corporation Berhad (HDC)
• Malaysia Automotive, Robotics and IoT Institute (MARii)
• Malaysia External Trade Development Corporation (MATRADE)
• Malaysia Productivity Corporation (MPC)
• Malaysian Industrial Development Finance Berhad (MIDF)
• Malaysian Investment Development Authority (MIDA)
• SIRIM Berhad (SIRIM)
• Sarawak Economic Development Corporation (SEDC)
• Malaysian Cocoa Board
• Malaysian Palm Oil Board (MPOB)
• Malaysian Pepper Board (MPB)
• Malaysian Rubber Board (LGM)
• Malaysian Timber Industry Board (MTIB)
• National Kenaf and Tobacco Board
• Felcra Berhad
• Jabatan Kemajuan Masyarakat (KEMAS)
• Jabatan Kemajuan Orang Asli Malaysia (JAKOA)
• Lembaga Kemajuan Kelantan Selatan (KESEDAR)
• Lembaga Kemajuan Terengganu Tengah (KETENGAH)
• Lembaga Kemajuan Johor Tenggara (KEJORA)
• Lembaga Kemajuan Wilayah Kedah
• Lembaga Kemajuan Wilayah Pulau Pinang (PERDA)
• Majlis Amanah Rakyat (MARA)
• Rubber Industry Smallholders Development Authority (RISDA)
• Cradle Fund Sdn Bhd (Cradle)
• Kumpulan Modal Perdana Sdn. Bhd.
• Malaysia Debt Ventures Berhad (MDV)
• Malaysian Technology Development Corporation (MTDC)
• NanoMalaysia Berhad
• Technology Park Malaysia (TPM)
• Malaysian Handicraft Development Corporation (MHDC)
• Jabatan Kebajikan Masyarakat (JKM)
• Jabatan Pembangunan Wanita (JPW)
• Jabatan Pembangunan Perindustrian dan Penyelidikan (JPPP)
• Jabatan Hal Ehwal Wanita Sabah
• Perbadanan Pembangunan Ekonomi Sabah (SEDCO)
• Sabah State Government (SABAH STATE)



SME Corporation Malaysia
Level 6, SME 1, Block B 
Platinum Sentral
Jalan Stesen Sentral 2
Kuala Lumpur Sentral
50470 Kuala Lumpur

Info Line: 03-2775 6204
03-2775 6157
03-2775 6306
Fax Line: 03-2775 6001
Email: info[at]smecorp[dot]gov[dot]my

Feedback Form



Tekun2 SKM1
output onlinepngtools Logo UDA smebank
logo bankrakyat pernas  aim



SME in Malaysia

SME Perfomance & Outlook

National Entrepreneurship Policy 2030 (DKN2030)

SME Policies


Business Guides

Success Stories

Business Directory

Business Ethics